Pin Curls: And How You Can Too

11 Jun

I was thinking about how I could add a little vintage to my life… my decision: PIN CURLS and VINTAGE FRIDAYS. Vintage Fridays are a hip new thing that I decided would add a little spice to my life. If you want some sort of explanation, here it goes:

Friday: A decade shall be picked. Then with whatever I have in my closet already, I have to create that look. The trick about Vintage Friday is that it has to be stuff you have. No need to go spending beaucoup bucks on an outfit. What can you throw together that looks good and vintagey? Now, if you already have those things in your closet… well, I wont naysay that epicness.

So want to see the results of my first Vintage Friday? Of course you are. I can just see you panting to see what I have only tantalized you with on Facebook thus far. :D

I will be honest, I started a little early. I had to set my hair in pin curlers for the ultimate look, and I did that at 11.30pm to midnight on Thursday, but I figured that I made the rules, so if anyone gets to “break them,” it has to be me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I tried to get a ton of different angles on the curls. It is hard since I am tripod-less (hope that I can get when I go home… just waiting so I dont have to fly it home in six weeks, but I may break down. I mean, they are fairly small). So… want to know how I did it?

Well, this is going to be a horrid explanation, but I washed my hair, so it was ALL WET. Then I grabbed a comb (my roommate’s… oops) and some bobby pins. Carefully I divided my bangs from the rest of my hair. Then I twisted them, making sure that the ends were tucked in. (I warned you the explanation would be terrible!) After that, I went through the rest of my hair in layers. I was sure not to grab too much.

Then I coated it in enough hairspray to kill off an enormous amount of brain cells (which explains some of my behavior today…). Now for the best part of this story. I do not have any of my nifty scarves here to wrap around my hair to protect it from my night-time wigglings… so what did I do? I found a long-sleeved shirt, wrapped it around my head, and then tried to sleep. Shirts= super bulky.

Morning came; I gently removed the shirt and took out the bobby pins. Then carefully, I brushed the curls down and added a couple more coats of hairspray.

Voila!!!

Paired with my fav 1940s outfit, I hit the road.

-The Vintage Sweetheart

Wanna Chat?

