The Chair Project

7 Feb

IMG_5798_small

It all started innocently enough. I was keeping one eye open for CURB ALERTs, so I could actually have furniture, as opposed to an empty apartment. That was when I ran into these two chairs. They were in perfect working order, and I kind of liked them…

IMG_5703_small

But they were a little beat up. They were a little bruised and a little scarred, but considering the price, I figured I couldn’t go wrong.IMG_5704_smallBut I kind of shelved my project, until one day, I started thinking about the iron-on vinyl… and the fact that I… but I am keeping that a secret! Look forward to the final Chair Project post coming in the near future!

Anyway, I decided if I was going to do the thing, I was going to do it up right. I love the combo of black and red, and it would not only complete my vinyl project but emphasize it!

So, I went rummaging about for how to paint wood furniture. My favorite article is located at The Frugal Girl.

IMG_5794_small

I had to sand it… then I primed it. Then I painted with a nice oil-based paint.IMG_5792_small

But I marred it a tad. So I buffed and painted again.IMG_5796_smallAnd voila! Even without my secondary project, I really like them. The contrast between the red and black is so striking… What do you think? 

Wanna Chat?

